Home-stay : Part 1

Welcome to part 1 of my weekend home stay experience.  Part 2 will be posted shortly after this.~

So, I’m currently writing this on a note app on my phone, and by the time you guys read this, I will be back.  But since I left in such a rush that I didn’t remember to grab any study materials, and I don’t have WiFi, or my laptop, if I want to kill time, this is the only way I can write.

Anyway, for those of you who may or may not know, this weekend all the weekend home-stay applicants are doing our home-stays with a Japanese family for 3 days from Friday-Sunday.
Mine is from a city about 5 minutes away from the college I go to, and they consist of a woman, her husband, their two children, and her parents.  Although, it’s mainly the grandparents that I’m staying with.  The kids are adorable, and I get along best with the younger one, because since he’s young, he still uses “easy” Japanese, and I don’t have to worry about being formal with him when I speak.  Of course, the kansai-ben(dialect) makes things a little difficult, but I’ve managed to figure out the gist of most things……so far…..
So far the kids have taught me 2 new card games, and a boatload of new Uno rules that I’m pretty sure don’t exist anywhere outside this household…..
The mom I think used to be an English teacher somewhere (China?…..maybe?…) so sometimes she can help translate a little…….but not much…..
I thought that living with Japanese roommates for 4 weeks would have taught me how to communicate well enough in Japanese, but oh how I overestimated that………
I guess it’s one thing to live with Japanese people in an English environment, and it’s a completely different story to be in a completely Japanese environment where you literally cannot use English……at all……
Honestly…….it’s a lot more frustrating than I originally thought it would be……
Especially when your brain is super tired from trying to decipher Japanese all day, and decides to default back to English no matter how hard you try…..
As far as I can tell so far…….the mother, husband and kids don’t actually live with the grandparents…….they’re in a different house, but its super close, like 1-2 houses apart, so they stayed the majority of the time in the grandparents house today, and then went back to their house in the evening……
Anyway, I feel bad, because somehow I managed to create some sort of misunderstanding where I think they think I’m studying right now……..but the truth is, I didn’t bring anything to study with me………so…..yeah…..
I wish I were studying……but I actually finished all the homework for Monday, so it would have been slightly pointless anyway…….
Anyway, I’m getting super sleepy so I’ll continue my home-stay recounting after tomorrow….
So untill then,
じゃあ、またね~

2 thoughts on “Home-stay : Part 1

  1. Pingback: Home-stay : Part 3 | A Whole New World

  2. Pingback: Home-stay : Part 2 | A Whole New World

Leave a comment